social engineering and you

RogueHart

everyone has done some social engineering at one point in your life. when did you first socially engineer someone?

for me its gotten to the point that i social engineer people without thinking about it. if you feel youve been socially engineered by me i apologize because 9/10 times i dont even realize ive done it.

i started young lol. wanting toys at about age 4. i figured out that if i asked for a toy it was rarely a yes especially for the more expensive ones. so i figured out that if i dont ask and just wait till im in view and stare at it maybe play with it with a sad look on my face i always got it lol. i was a lil con artist

...I'm social engineering all of you right now...and it feels so good..

Seriously, I think at some level, everyone has done it. Wether it be a lie, or just straight out con, or even a joke to some extent, most people , like you said, do it without even thinking about it. If we didn't, a lot of men and women would probably never get laid and none of us would be here today.

Hmm...

Last night, at Sin nightclub in San Diego during Toorcon, I social engineered the bartender into giving me some cheap drinks. We had the 5$ off cards for use, and apparently they stopped taking them at 11. Of course, this info wasn't on the card. But luckily, I make good conversation and had the ability to use the cards much later than the cut-off time. ;)

I also enjoyed the vendor room at ACEN two years ago, with much social engineering. Those vendors def. rack up the prices on japanese imports, and they are stubborn as hell to talk down! But, there's a way to everything.

Moonlit, I find it interesting that as soon as I say "bar" and "I" you instantly think there were tits. Are you trying to say something, or are you just making an assumption based on my last responce? There were no tits involved. There will be pics up on my flickr from the awesome night to prove it to the "pix or it didnt happen" kids.