PC Building

Rab

I'm considering building a PC, something i've never done before. I have started researching some componenents, and stores, but there is too much choice! I am not a hardcore gamer, running CS Source well is a must - but perhaps Doom 3 or Call Of Duty 2 are not really required. I want to use Windows Vista Beta. Main emphasis is on multi tasking and fast processing.

Please post suggestions of components or entire systems. Or give any useful advice! Thanks in advance!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would definately go with dual core. I went with that on my last build and I'm loving my AMD 3800 x2. I am more of an AMD guy then intel. also, invest in dual channel memory. SATA drivers and a nice sturdy well built case such as a lian li. I really don't need much of a video card, but I am waiting until directx10 compatible ones come out and I willl buy another ATI. but mainly I would suggest:

64 bit capable dual core processor

Dual Channel DDR2

Direct x 10 compatible video card (none our out but the x800 is a cheap card that should fit your needs)

SATA drivers (so you can set up RAID)

Gigabyte GA-945GM-S2 Motherboard - $95.99

Intel Pentium D 805 533MHz FSB LGA 775 Dual Core, 2.66GHz - $97.00

2GB of CORSAIR DDR2 - $173.98

ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink - $62.99

MSI TurboStream 600W Power Supply - $69.99

2 X Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM SATA Hard Drives - $155.98

SAPPHIRE Radeon X1600XT - $111.99

NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner - $28.99

ARCTIC COOLING Pro TC 80mm Case Cooling Fan - $3.99

Linkworld 435-10 C2228 Computer Case - $24.99

KWORLD VS-TV7133 3DYC PCI Interface TV Tuner - $25.99

$851.88

This build is capable of running Windows Vista ultimate edition with all the features and all games currently on the market.