Ubuntu and China

Mr-Protocol

as a linux and a ubuntu user
i don't see why this is not fucking great !

+1 billion at least for linux :D

this is huge

ps: well they can do whatever they want with it since it's not included in the official version / it will be like kubuntu and edubuntu (official spin )

Edited by aminter

I keep reading it, and I just can get a hold of myself. All the days that I have invested on mastering Ubuntu thinking that is one of the most relaible open systems, now turns out that indeed it will be "open".

I don't know if chinese hands will be on my system. (no I'm not discriminating, I love chinese people in fact I live with chinese people) but in cybersecurity it's a whole different story.

I guess now we have to start talking about recomendations of different distros we can use, instead of ubuntu.

I would probably recomend Fedora, since it's the distro closest to Red Had Linux, which is used at enterprise level. Since I'm a network system administrator that would actually help me to start getting used to this important system.

Sad, and with no too much to say anymore...

Thank you so much for this information, cause I would have probably continue using ubuntu without relizing that will be managed with chinese IT people.

RIP Ubuntu.

Best Regards

I'm sure if the Chinese, or any other well funded group, wanted to get nasty stuff included in any distro they could but this does make it a lot easier for them.

Hopefully it is a downstream standalone product but once a dev is trusted for this it makes them easier to get upstream trust.

I keep reading it, and I just can get a hold of myself. All the days that I have invested on mastering Ubuntu thinking that is one of the most relaible open systems, now turns out that indeed it will be "open".

I don't know if chinese hands will be on my system. (no I'm not discriminating, I love chinese people in fact I live with chinese people) but in cybersecurity it's a whole different story.