On site networking tool kit

shonen

I am currently working a few days a week at a small local dekstop/laptop store doing your standard A+ and sales orientated work while I study.

Anyways my boss mentioned that he recently has been getting a fair few requests from local home and small businesses for network related work which he previously has never catered for due to the number of staff and not having a networking guy so he offered to swing this work my way which will mainly be done after hours and at a better pay rate (details are still in negotiation).

Which leaves me to a few questions seeing as I am use to working at a bench with everything at arms reach and I have had very little real life experience with dealing with networks other than family and friends (previously studied networking for 2 years at Tafe). I am curious as to what tools or software will be useful to take along to sites.

At the moment I only have a laptop, usb keys, external hdd, assorted screw drivers and a few spare networking cables. I think I should invest in a RJ45 crimping tool seeing as the one I have is on loan from a class mate.

Was also curious as to some legal issues that I may want to be aware of so it doesn't bite me or my boss in the ass down the track. For example I can't legally do data cable installs seeing as I don't currently hold a licensee for it.

Any input or life experience on this will be very much appreciated.

Well, I wouldn't really worry about legal issues.. that is as long as it's residential work your doing. I wouldn't worry either about business related work. Just inform them you'r not a security person, just a networking professional.

As far as tools here is what you need to invest in:

At least a couple of boxes of cat6e

Either one really good made crimper or two cheap ones..