Email spoofing

stiankarlsen

I guess this isn't really a hack, as much as a little trick, but here goes.

I was hoping someone could help me out with email spoofing through telnet, it just doesnt "work" anymore.

To spoof an email thorugh telnet, i do the following:

telnet mx2.hotmail.com //could go for mx1 or mail.hotmail.com if thats floats your boat

helo //not a typo

mail from: fake@sender.com

rcpt to: reciever@mail.com

data

subject: mail subject //now press enter

--type the message here--

// press enter and type "." without the quotes, press enter again

you should get a message saying "mail qued for delivery"

quit

Im sure most of you knew how to do this already, so dont flame me too hard, im just a humble newbie.

My problem is, that this used to work, but now, even though i get the message saying "mail qued for delivery", the mail appears never to actually be sent... (i have no firewall/antivirus program that might be in the way)

does anyone know what im doing wrong, or what it is thats prohibits the mail from being sent?

Stian Karlsen, Norway.

So your saying that its not possible to spoof emails thorugh hotmail anymore..hmm

is ther any hosts that I can use?

and btw, why isn't it possible to make "rcpt to: soemthing.someone@mail.no.ua" (does there need to be a limited number of "."`?" ( i get -mailbox unavilable- when trying with that kind of an address)

Well that message means the mailbox of that name isn't available, probably because it doesn't exist.

Not sure about other SMTP server you can use, try Google. You should be aware your IP will usually be in the headers of any emails you send, so you aren't anonymous by spoofing your address.

I figured my IP addresses would be logged somehow, yes, but it really doesnt matter, not planning on sending out any fatal emails, just a make a complication here and there between some friends.