Mac Ics Works

thesugarat

I'm new to the Pineapple but I love it so far. Just thought I'd share a process to get Internet Connection Sharing working in MAC OSX without having to make manual edits to the Pineapple as the Wiki states.

This requires the Network Manager infusion be installed.

Step 1: Connect MAC wifi to your Internet connected AP

Step 2: Ensure to "Set Service Order" under the Network preferences, put the Wifi above the Ethernet

Step 3: Also in Network prefs set the IP address of the Ethernet connection manually - 172.16.42.42, subnet is 255.255.255.0, router is blank, and DNS is 8.8.8.8

Step 4: Plug the cat5 cable into the WAN/LAN port on the pineapple

Step 5: Go to "Sharing" in System Prefs, in "Internet Sharing" set WiFi to Ethernet, check the box and hit start. ( this step will assign an IP address of 192.168.2.2 to the WAN/LAN port, this is visible on the pineapple's Status page. )

Step 6: In the network manager infusion go to the ICS tab, set Share Internet From eth1 to wlan0 (or br-lan in some instances) then click save.

The only thing unique with my setup is my Air doesn't have an NIC port so I'm using a USB to Ethernet adapter.

It should be obvious but I used a different device connected to the pineapple AP to make changes while my Air was in use. You could use a different laptop and connect to the LAN/POE port but an iPad or tablet with wifi works just fine.

Please let me know if this works for you. If it does maybe this can be added to the Wiki.

Thanks,

thesugarat

Edited by thesugarat

I'll be giving this a try soon! I got a screamin 11inch air and I just hate having to change all my pineapples parameters around just to plug it into the mac. Thanks for the how to thesugarat!

telot