Your Favorite Language

Destro

So recently I have decided to focus on more languages in more detail. I am not very good at coding and was wondering what would you suggest. I want to go into I.T. I am interested in pen testing and things along those lines. What is your top languages and what do you use them for?

p.s. Thanks to Shonen

p.s.s. Dingleberries I am looking forward to your reply!

cheers,

Destro

1. Perl - Easy, cross-platform scripting language. You should probably look into python though as it is a stronger language, I just personally haven't got around to learning it.
  2. C - Most open-source pentesting tools that aren't written in a scripting language are written in C so it's good to know so that you can edit these tools to your needs.
  3. ASM - Yay exploit development and hardcore debugging :3

• 2 weeks later...

I absolutely LOVE python, it is probably the most rapid dev language I've used. But I'd also recommend learning C/C++, you can do a lot more with C than you can do with pretty much any other language.

but as dr0p said, perl is a big language out there right now. And a lot of the exploit scripts you'll find will be written in it, so a basic understanding is probably a plus (doesn't take much)

Mines the one that is write for the job. I'm not going to write a web application in C and I'm not going to write a GUI in SQL.

Personally, my favorite language is Prolog, which is a logic language, there are no return statements really, just truths. Allowing you to ask something like colourOfHats(X), and prolog will resolve X to be say 'Blue' and 'Red' if that is true and specified in the program.

You can't be considered a real programmer until you have learnt an imperative, functional, logic and scripting language in my opinion.