Dropbox for business Secure, alternatives?

I am an IT administrator/support for a small Organisation and we have dropbox users storing and sharing data (some of it could be confidential or sensitive). I was wondering if any one should be storing confidential or sensitive information in Dropbox. I have heard there are many security holes in it.

tell me what you think?

alternative? onedrive for business?

• 3 months later...

If you absolutely have to use a cloud based storage solution I'd highly recommend Google Team Drive. Not only is it the same price as Dropbox but they also provide you with company email addresses ($10/u/m). They have a full suite of tools to protect your information and you can control all aspects of your data. You can lock types of files, restrict access based on domain, and even restrict the downloading/copying of documents. 

My company used to utilize dropbox but it's FARRRRRRR too easy for a user to mess everything up for everyone.

-PsyNeu

(Taking on the tinfoil hat)

Maybe it's just me being paranoid here, but storing confidential data offsite (3rd party provider), and no encryption. No way, no matter who it is.

For a small organisation, I would say, privately owned and run server, LUKS drives, and SSHFS, with gpg as an extra layer for individual file encryption.
Some realtime monitoring for file read/write (Inotify), and you're on your way :)

Depending on the workstations, LUKS and LUKS-Nuke option, maybe try looking into luks-TPM or opengpg smartcards and luks, and you're well on your way to something secure :)

(Taking off the tinfoil hat again)

• 1 month later...