My server was comprimised, please help

sebrown

Hello all,

Most of you are much more skilled then I when it comes to forensics and security, so please do me a favor and help me out here so I can better understand the processes and procedures I should follow and implement.

Short summary:

I have a dedicated server running centOS and hosting a website, there is also a custom member management

software I've been using for 2 years now that handles a few thousand CC numbers and all account billing related issues.

A few days ago, I enlisted the help of the authors of this Membership Management software (OSS5) to complete some custom modifications. The company is US based, but they use Russian programmers (yea i know what your thinking) but I've never had a problem with them, before this week.

So, I create a FTP user account for the programmer to use, and give them the credentials as they requested. After a few days of not hearing back from them, I contact them to see whats going on and they say the credentials i provided are not valid. I plug them in myself, they work fine, so I decide to check my logs to see whats up. Come to find out, not only do the credentials I provided work, but they are being used by a IP address which is in UKRAINE. 78.30.193.208

The log shows this IP uploaded a zip file, unpacked it, deleted it, also they looked at my sql.php files and config.php files and modified some other misc files. I contact them back, tell them about the logs I have and ask them whats going on. They continue to deny their involvement in whats going on, despite the fact that the IP address and have only given that login to them.