Trying to get past a bios PW on a Dell Latitude D810

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 VoxPopuli

VoxPopuli

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 October 2009 - 08:11 PM

Hey, I just picked up a second hand Dell Latitude D810 laptop that has a bios password and I've been searching forums for a few hours and haven't come up with much. I tried calling Dell, but since I'm not an original owner they won't give me the admin password. This is my first time ever dealing with a bios password so I looked up as much as I could and found that you need to physically take the machine apart. I tried the simpler, non-invasive tactic of taking out the cmos battery for an hour, but apparently security on laptops are way tighter than desktops. Does anyone have experience with clearing the cmos on a laptop?

#2 NUSHOR

NUSHOR

Hak5 Fan +

• Active Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Interests:Anything that uses power really.

Posted 06 October 2009 - 08:34 PM

use CmosPwd to either crack or kill the password (killing is easier)
check it out

http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/CmosPwd

#3 555

Hak5 forum junky

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 06 October 2009 - 09:27 PM

take that little battery called the CMOS battery out for like 2 minutes then re-plug it back in, then the BIOS PW will be gone. It is a circular battery which resembles almost a wrist watch battery.

#4 Netshroud

Netshroud

Hak5 Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,321 posts

Posted 06 October 2009 - 10:11 PM

555: AFAIK CMOS batteries are soldered onto the laptop motherboards.
"Why is it 'marketing' when a company helps itself to my information against my will and 'piracy' or 'industrial espionage' if I helped myself to THEIR information against their will ?"

#5 555

Hak5 forum junky

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 418 posts

Posted 06 October 2009 - 10:23 PM

QUOTE (Psychosis @ Tue, 06 Oct 2009 23:11:37 +0000) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>