Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

VoxPopuli

Trying to get past a bios PW on a Dell Latitude D810

15 posts in this topic

Hey, I just picked up a second hand Dell Latitude D810 laptop that has a bios password and I've been searching forums for a few hours and haven't come up with much. I tried calling Dell, but since I'm not an original owner they won't give me the admin password. This is my first time ever dealing with a bios password so I looked up as much as I could and found that you need to physically take the machine apart. I tried the simpler, non-invasive tactic of taking out the cmos battery for an hour, but apparently security on laptops are way tighter than desktops. Does anyone have experience with clearing the cmos on a laptop?

take that little battery called the CMOS battery out for like 2 minutes then re-plug it back in, then the BIOS PW will be gone. It is a circular battery which resembles almost a wrist watch battery.

555: AFAIK CMOS batteries are soldered onto the laptop motherboards.

555: AFAIK CMOS batteries are soldered onto the laptop motherboards.

I have not yet ever seen a laptop nor desktop which has a soldered CMOS battery to the motherboard. Maybe that has something to do with what country you are in? but I have not yet seen a soldered CMOS battery and have fixed over 100 different computers atleast, both laptops and desktops.. more desktops then laptops though.