Newbie.

TuX^

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie and basically thought I'd introduce myself and ask a few simple questions. :)

I'm an apprentice IT Technician / Network Admin but I'm very interested in network and computer security / hacking and all other interesting stuff that get's mentioned on Hak5. I've been loitering around for a while and reading some threads and realizing just how much I have to learn. Which is where you come in, is there any good beginners guides that you would recommend reading? Or is the majority of it just Googling? I'm starting to watch the show and have learnt bits and bobs from that, so I guess that's useful too.

Any pointers would be appreciated. I know I'm a newbie but everyone's gotta start out somewhere, right?

Thanks,

TuX^

A good place to start is maybe getting a copy of backtrack for pentesting, then watch videos on this site. Practice is the most important part, the more you practice the better. Google your questions, and if you cant find a answer then drop a message on here. Welcome to the site!

There is a great tutorial on how to use Metasploit on IronGeek.

It takes you through all the features and parts of it, including some live exploitation.

Edited by Infiltrator

Very good point Trip and I would like to emphasize the following:

Being a hacker can be a good and bad thing, it all depends on how one looks at it. Its very vital to learn and understand the meaning of a "Hacker"

People that are not so computer educated, will think of a "hacker" as someone who breaks into computer systems and cause damages, but these kind of hackers are known as Black Hat Hackers.

Their only intent is to do harm nothing else.

Grey Hats, on the other hand is the inverse of Black Hats, they do no cause harm but they simply try to infiltrate into computer systems and once infiltrated, they will provide

feedback on how the attack was performed and then on how to prevent it from occurring again.