ANTI THEFT ?

throbinskin

I found this site on accident, but very glad I did.  I am very new to computer language and would take any advice, help or links.  I have been reading through many posts all day today.  My goal is this.

Leave behind some usb flash drives at work. .    Why.  Well I have done this on accident many times and someone or someones at my work have sticky fingers and have taken them.    I have an idea of three people but can't prove it.   

All I'm looking to get is proof.  their computer name.  gps location of there ip address (home) and anything else that can help me prove that they are steeling.  I work at a fire station and this should not be tolerated.  Once I catch the person I want them out of my station.  I cant tell you how much stuff has been stolen it's sickening.  I'm not trying to get anything else as it looks like many people here are try to do.  I just want proof !

Do I really need a u3 flash drive or not?  looking to spend no more than $20 and have a min of 1 gig to be tempting to take home.  what do I need to put on the flash drive and it needs to be able to run on xp or vista.

watched the hacksaw video many times. . . .  as far as email.  They sug.  gmail because of the wide use and free.  does the person/s I'm trying to catch have to have a gmail account for their computer to email me?

Can anyone HELP

Thanks

Modify some usb sticks so that they physically damage the computer when plugged in. Not entirely sure how its done but my mate managed it by leaving one in the footwell of his car for months on end. I suspect you could just short the power lines to the data line. Then wait for someone to complain there machine is broken.

This is best asked in the USB hacks section of the forum, so I'll move it.