A WiFi Project?

jchomley

Hi Everyone,

i have a couple of problems in working with my WiFi project.

Firstly, WHICH Hak5 product do I purchase?

The Mission: 

I am doing WiFi range testing in a rural environment with all sorts of antenna hardware.  Using Dovado routers, I need to get something from the Hak5 product range that I can plug into a router and simply have it spew text data out of its WiFi and I simply wander about with another router bring that raw text onto a terminal program screen…….while I am in range, data will be received, when out of range I simply lose it.

So, do i send the data via the Ethernet Port OR via the USB port, to be transmitted over WiFi from the host router?  I guess a simple script file could be run in the Hak 5 to generate the dat payload for WiFi transmission? 

Any ideas appreciated

Cheers,

Jack (a total newbie)

I'm sorry, I don't understand what you are talking about. What are you trying to achieve? Measuring WiFi range? In relation to what? I can't offer any help without any deeper details about it all. A sketch would be nice to get a picture of how things interact, and also what things? There are Dovados mentioned as well as "host routers" and USB and ethernet ports of unknown devices as well as payloads. It's hard to suggest any Hak5 product with such a blurry use case scenario.

30 minutes ago, chrizree said:

I'm sorry, I don't understand what you are talking about. What are you trying to achieve? Measuring WiFi range? In relation to what? I can't offer any help without any deeper details about it all. A sketch would be nice to get a picture of how things interact, and also what things? There are Dovados mentioned as well as "host routers" and USB and ethernet ports of unknown devices as well as payloads. It's hard to suggest any Hak5 product with such a blurry use case scenario.