Wordpress Offline and importing an online database backup

Stevie

If that makes sense? I've been looking for guides but can only find old ones that don't explain what I need. I need, well would like as it's just a hobby, an offline version of Wordpress on my PC so I can import my current wordpress site that is online. It's had an old no longer supported theme on it for a couple of years now and I want to change it. But when I preview other themes most of them break the layout. So would like to create an offline version to play with various themes.

Having just typed this I wonder if I could just do it on another part of my website, so it's an online copy and then just play around with the copy. Hmmm.

I've never used Wordpress before but is it not possible to simply download the files through FTP? As long as you have all the supporting CSS files your layout should stay the same regardless of where your site resides. I don't know if Wordpress uses any dynamic trickery where they load styles from a database but even then you could just view source and copy everything.

Maybe post some of the errors you're getting so we can assess what you're up against. Who knows, you might just be missing one or two key files...

Usually the best way to set up a blog to try out themes on isn't to dump the database and import it locally as WordPress stores the site URL in the database and uses that as the base of a number of key URLs. For creating a site to test some themes on it is usually much easier to simply use the export option on the live WordPress to export your posts and pages, then do a fresh install of WordPress locally and import your export.

If your export is large then you may need to gzip the file or split it into smaller files to get past some WordPress upload limits (separate limits to the usual php upload ones).