Inexpensive HAM base station

Hi everybody,

I just recently discovered HAM radio. I haven't gotten my license yet but I'm studying for it. Meanwhile, I've been doing some research as to setting up my base station. My goal is to be able to transmit and receive on VHF and UHF bands, and HF would also be great but is not necessary. As I did my research, I realized that there are many routes to my goal, but the ones I've found are very expensive. I am looking for something under 300 dollars, preferably 200, including antenna, transceiver, coax, key, microphone and anything else that is necessary. It would be great if any of you know where to get this stuff for cheap or have any advice in general about this.

Anyway,

Thanks!

P.S. If hak5 is not the right place to post this, please tell me immediately and I'll move the topic to another site. I would hate to be a nuisance. I just really loved the responsive and helpful community here.

I'm no moderator. And your free to ask questions. But i dont think there to many people here that can help you. The thing i do can say your better of finding the local ham radio section. They could help you the best. I also highly doubt it you can get all that gear for less then 300$. The place where i live you are required to have the license before you can buy the radio. The keep your price low. I would look at mobile stations. Ok they dont have the big power output but are way cheaper to get.

Regards,

GuardMoony

I think Madhak should have some answers for you and there are a few other HAM guys amongst us. Most tend to hang out in the SDR part of this forum. This isn't so much the wrong forum to ask but there are probably better ones out there. I'm quite interested myself in the answers you may get, even though I don't expect to become a HAM guy myself anytime soon...

Swaggie and others,