Would it be possible to install a different server-side language for modules?

Hi everyone. I just discovered the Pineapple and its capabilities and was intrigued so I bought one now that they are back in stock. I intend to use it as a learning tool for discovering how these attacks work and how to protect myself and my friends from them. I'm also a programmer and like devices I can "hack" and write software for, and it might be a fun weekend project to build some add-ons and release them to the community.

The thing is, I am loathe to write PHP. I haven't in years and would prefer to avoid it if possible. I was kinda thinking Node.js might be a lightweight alternative to PHP and more fun to develop with. So my question is, what would be involved in setting up node.js inside the Firmware and building modules around it?

My understanding is that the Pineapple's Jasager firmware is based on OpenWRT, which is packaged as a Linux Distro. Installing Node.js on Linux is usually straightforward. So it seems like it might be possible if some effort was put into it.

Has anyone thought about or put any work into this? Or does my meager understanding of how all of this works betray me?

Thanks!

Thanks for the reply Foxtrot. So if we can install Python, it seems reasonable to think we could install Node. I'll Google for it, but if you (or anyone else) knows where I can learn how to install and use Python on the Pineapple, please share the links.

Cheers

Thanks for the reply Foxtrot. So if we can install Python, it seems reasonable to think we could install Node. I'll Google for it, but if you (or anyone else) knows where I can learn how to install and use Python on the Pineapple, please share the links.

Cheers

Installing Python on a pineapple ( I think ) has to be installed to a USB, so you can install Python by connecting your pineapple to the internet, then executing

opkg install python --dest usb