Philadelphia Area M33tup

jdigit3l

anyone interested in starting a meetup group in the Philadelphia region?

i'm a net admin in the area and i'd like to get something going if there are like-minded folks in the area.

please let me know if you're interested and if you have any thoughts of convenient times and places.

i'm thinking monthly evening meetups with open discussion and show and tell :)

thanks!

There are a few hackerspaces in philly. Hive76 is the first that comes to mind. This sounds pretty cool, so let me know if you finalize a place and time

Awsome! Can you elaborate on the existing hackerspaces (btw, what's a hackerspace). I'll read into hive76 cause I've never heard...

Once I get a little more interest we can collab and decide on a convenient destination

http://www.hive76.org/

these people charge money though if you wanna join. thats a big negative for me. i think that contradicts the hacker culture right there.

Hacker spaces are generally rented unless someone donates the space, so it helps pay the bills, as in keep the lights on, access to the space, etc, etc. These things don't grow on trees nor pay for themselves. I was thinking of the costs to start one in my area, and after looking at what a few charge and thinkiung about rent, electricity, internet, (water, sewage - if costs extra in some places), trash removal, it starts to add up. These arent publicly open spaces, they are member supported and paid for.

Find a Barnes and Noble or Borders in your area. Coffee and Wifi. That would probably the easiest solution.