Cheap Computer

ArkNinja

I was wondering what all of you're opinions were on what the best low-budget computer would be. I would prefer to do it myself (its cheaper that way isn't it?), but I want it to be not low-low end parts. I do not prefer AMD to Intel (or visa-versa), and am just looking for the bare essentials (RAM, PSU, CPU, Motherboard and Case should do it). I was looking at doing one of the AMD quad-cores for my CPU and one of the lower end motherboards (I don't need that many features for my mobo), and it priced out to about $400-$500. My price range is very, very low (I am a high school student with no job, so yeah...) so I would prefer anything under $600 would be acceptable. I know this isn't much room to work with, but I want to see if you guys can get a better system for lower than I could, or even a comparable system for lower.

Thanks in advance,

ArkNinja

Oh, and what would you guys recommend for a PSU in a computer, because I seriously have no idea what I would need. Should I look at all of the parts and figure out what they need power wise and then add it up, or is there a certain wattage where I would pretty much be safe?

hmm.. This is an interesting thread.. Let me ask you first. What do you want/think you want to do with it...

If it's just simple browsing/video/maybe a little hacking or something, go get THIS:

nwg.jpg

4 Gig's of ram, a dual core processor, even a flippin' sweetass looking case and a 19" widescreen.

I'm proud.. *tear* Actually you could go alot cheaper on that memory though... Also you take of things and it get's WAY cheaper... Got a monitor already? -$74, got a keyboard and mouse? -$16 And some OCZ memory that's cheaper, and it get's down to $410.07 + shipping!