no0b introduction?

Demigod151

Hello all, I recently got interested in hacking and things similar, but unfortunately I don't know very much. I know the basics of c++, and I know how to use kon-boot, that's it, so I was hoping that someone could show me some basics, get me started. I have mac os x and linux mint.

Thanks, Demigod151

1. Google is your bestest best hacker friend, k?

2. Watch Hak5 from Season 1 Episode 1 to Episode 601

3. Read this, this, this, this, this, this, this, this, this, this, this, and so many more.

4. Read those^^ again.

5. Don't be discouraged by my post, you'll thank me if you actually read those links.

6. Come back when you've read those.

Seems to me that posting "someone please introduce me to hacking" on a forum called hak5 might be a misinterpreted request :).

My personal recommendation is to get as much coding experience as you can, among the many things I'm not good at coding is paramount, and it's every so important if you want to separate yourself from the script kiddies and actually write and edit things yourself.

-B

Coding isn't that important. What is important is a desire to learn, curiosity and the ability to think out of the box. If you can't do that, then all the reading in the world won't make you a hacker.

I agree with VaKo, coding isn't that important. A hacker is someone with an obsessive curiosity of computers and has a skewed perspective to see through obstacles and problems. Of the hackers I know, I'd say the more lauded skill set is more in line with a system administrator. I'd suggest familiarizing yourself with the command-line (Windows, Unix, or otherwise) and picking up a scripting language. I fundamental knowledge of how networks and your computer work would also be beneficial. Aside from that, back your data up and keep an install disc for your OS nearby and just poke at your system until you understand it. Good luck!