Home Network Security Question

daskel

I'm trying to figure out the best way to secure my home network. Can anyone point me in the right direction or provide some tips on what to buy or how to approach this. A work buddy advised me to buy a hardware firewall. Is this the way to go, or is there a cheaper alternative.

Thanks... by the way I'm a noob. :unsure:

How are you connected to the internet? Wireless? Computer(s) run which OS?

Proverbially if you are connected to the Internet your network isn't secure. You can only put metaphorical 'road blocks' in place to catch the majority of the stuff.

I'm trying to figure out the best way to secure my home network. Can anyone point me in the right direction or provide some tips on what to buy or how to approach this. A work buddy advised me to buy a hardware firewall. Is this the way to go, or is there a cheaper alternative.

Thanks... by the way I'm a noob. :unsure:

Yes, please give us details and we'll nitpick and argue over the best solutions. That's what we do here!

OS?

Multiple computers?

Gaming system?

Wireless?

Network Devices?

Modem?

Broadband type?

etc..

We'll even disagree and make it even more difficult.

Another question that hasn't been asked is what kind of concerns do you have?

Security is really about risk management and usually when someone asks about "securing" they want to address the fears they have. One fear is not knowing what to be afraid of. That's OK too.

Yes, please give us details and we'll nitpick and argue over the best solutions. That's what we do here!

OS?

Multiple computers?

Gaming system?

Wireless?

Network Devices?

Modem?

Broadband type?

etc..

XP, Leopard... xbox360. I have 3 Computers hooked up through a wireless router. My ISP is through quest and I have the modem going to my router. I use the 360 as a media center, and the laptops for various stuffs. I have my main desktop jacked into the router... everything else is wireless.