Merge pw lists

Sizzlik

hi..i would like to know if anybody knows a nice tool or easy way to merge password lists. In my case..i got the rockyou.txt wich contains 14mio passwords and i got a master list with 19mio passwords.

Now i want to join the both together, ignoring duplicates, adding new ones...and of course in future test other lists against my list to check for new passwords.

When i google it, i only find tools and answers that append the contents of files to the end of the main file...but a pw list with tons of duplicates.

So..does anybody know a tool? Or a way to reach that goal? I thought about finding a way in excel..but im really bad at excel..i can make a invoice..thats it

I doubt that Excel has enough lines to manage merging those lists.

It's a LONG time since I've done this but if each of your lists is sorted and unique I believe that you can use mli2 from Hashcat Utils

I believe that the stages would be something like this.

cat list1.txt | sort | uniq > list1_su.txt
cat list2.txt | sort | uniq > list2_su.txt
./mli2.bin list1_su.txt list2_su.txt > list_full.txt

Check first using smaller test lists containing just a few words!

There are several ways to do this...

One of the simplest is using sort

sort -u pwd1.txt pwd2.txt -o master.txt

Other methods posted should work as well.  There are also hashcat utils to aid in this.  Another option you might see is dymerge but personally it does not work for me due to its limit on list size. 

Perfect..thanks for the help!

Now another question crossed my mind..what size of a PW list is reasonable? I mean..there are wordlists out with over a billion passwords (1gb file) wich is totally stupid on a BB..so how big is close to "too big"? I think the list now gets close to 200mb..maybe someone did the math on how long the BB takes to process xxx passwords on a brute force?