Internet Blackouts

entity

Hello Forum,

Recent events have got me thinking ... in the event where a state/country issue an internet blackout ,or a scenario where telephone/mobile communication are disabled, what can an ordinary individual do to communicate across continents, or get back "online" ... now i am assuming that if mobile communication is disabled the 3G/4G wouldn't work as well so you can't use your mobile phone as a modem, but I am no expert on how these networks work. Any ideas how to get around this situation ? Also by "ordinary individual" i mean someone who has an average income and not someone who has limitless pockets.

Regards,

Entity

That's a damn good question, and in fact I read an article on Computerworld.com, on what to do in such event. It was suggested to use a dial-up internet service, in case mobile phone carriers went down.

But that left me wondering, what if the whole system world wide went down, like satellites and other vital technology. We would be completely without communication and no way of communicating across the globe.

That's in deed a damn good question, and that has cross my mind several times.

I still have the radio my boss gave me years ago when I worked for the city, you'd be suprised how many people use them for random chatter. Then of course there is all the people who have them for work purposes such as police.

There is always somthing you can use.

Its not completly out of the realm of possibilies to send information great distance by sending it from person to person via radio

Edited by xantos_gambit

@Infiltrator - but if the telephone system is disabled wouldn't dial-up stop working too ?

and

@xantos_gambit - well ok radios would work but not over extremely long distances, say across oceans ... i'm guessing