Small Business Wifi Setup

G-Stress

Curious to know what you guys think or might suggest. I setup a small breakfast diner's wireless network today, just a basic setup. They had a cable modem and netgear wireless router secured with wpa-wpa2 tkip/aes. They offer their customer's free wifi service meaning they have to give their customer's the passphrase to access the internet.

Now I can think of ways to setup a radius server so they can authenticate with a username and pass, the only issue with that is as far as I know every customer would have to be manually added meaning they would need an administrator. I'm wondering if there is a service that will run on a router/server something similar to starbucks where the user's are prompted with authentication page to create their own accounts then are allowed access to the internet? I've searched for this before quite a few times, but I'm not a developer and wouldn't know where to get started to develop something such as this.

If it were YOU setting up this business how would you guys do it?

ANY advice is greatly appreciated.

I think a Captive portal is what you are after. Untangle currently supports it. So users must log in first before they can surf the net.

Edit: from a security point of view, an open wireless is like inviting a stranger into your house, very bad idea.

Also check out this link, I think it has you are looking for.

http://www.personaltelco.net/PortalSoftware

Edited by Infiltrator

I think a Captive portal is what you are after. Untangle currently supports it. So users must log in first before they can surf the net.

Edit: from a security point of view, an open wireless is like inviting a stranger into your house, very bad idea.

Also check out this link, I think it has you are looking for.

http://www.personaltelco.net/PortalSoftware