Wireless/wired Security

12wesley

I think someone is hacking my laptop at work. Im a contractor and not a direct employee of the company. I have no intranet services only internet.

What can I do to stop them? Im running windows 7

I got suspicious when the linksys wireless router was replaced with a buffalo router. The linksys router was functioning properly. The admin removed the wired connection from the wall, he wanted access to my computer to setup the wireless router, but I quickly setup to keep him off of my laptop.

I running hot spot shields which is a type of VPN, not sure how safe this is.

RDP, File/printer sharing are turned off

wesley

I don't understand how it all works but these are my thoughts

the wireless router is installed on a networked pc. Then routed to a central

server and out to the Internet. Seeing how the

internal network can have several hops

before hitting the Internet I would

think my traffic is logged (possibly the first networkedpc)

before actally tunneled or encrypted by

a VPN or other software.

I installed a program decaffinatid from

irongeek it logs events and flashes a message

at the task bar. I get The below warnings

new ip in cache

mac address changed

First of all... What a horrible place that they are using wireless networking. Wired will always bring in the best performance and best security. Your best bet is to set up a SSH tunnel. Every business with servers should have port 22 open for SSH access to their systems, so setting up a SSH tunnel will work out great for you.

From a business perspective, your machine poses a risk for the company, so I'm not sure why they even allow you access with it at all.