Active Directory

Hai!

I am new to server 2008 & Active Directory.

Me & a friend have been trying to setup AD & have it so we can also remotely manage it [RSAT].

We followed a few online guides & did what was told, but server=fail.

We definitely did stuff wrong.

I am not sure where to start, so I will give an error my friend copied down:

Note: This information is intended for a network administrator.  If you are not your network's administrator, notify the administrator that you received this information, which has been recorded in the file C:\Windows\debug\dcdiag.txt.

The following error occurred when DNS was queried for the service location (SRV) resource record used to locate an Active Directory Domain Controller (AD DC) for domain "horc.me":

The error was: "DNS name does not exist."
(error code 0x0000232B RCODE_NAME_ERROR)

The query was for the SRV record for _ldap._tcp.dc._msdcs.horc.me

Common causes of this error include the following:

- The DNS SRV records required to locate a AD DC for the domain are not registered in DNS. These records are registered with a DNS server automatically when a AD DC is added to a domain. They are updated by the AD DC at set intervals. This computer is configured to use DNS servers with the following IP addresses:

- One or more of the following zones do not include delegation to its child zone:

horc.me
me
. (the root zone)

Can someone help? :(

Thanks for reading

Sounds like DNS isn't working right on that system. I have no idea about RSAT. But I'd run DCPROMO again on that system, google online for DC setup tutorial's you should be able to find some check list style guides, it is very important that before you run dcpromo that you have DNS working correctly.