Hidden SSID

bradL

Hey, I'm new here. Anyways I'm a college student going into Computer Information Technology. Everyday I go into the campus cafe and use their wi-fi for about two hours every morning for about 4 days of the week. They recently made a rule about you have to buy stuff to use the wi-fi so I left there and found a unnamed network. How can I find it's SSID so I can use the internet? I have Vistumbler and Wireshark on my laptop could I use those programs to find it or do I need another one?

Hey, I'm new here. Anyways I'm a college student going into Computer Information Technology. Everyday I go into the campus cafe and use their wi-fi for about two hours every morning for about 4 days of the week. They recently made a rule about you have to buy stuff to use the wi-fi so I left there and found a unnamed network. How can I find it's SSID so I can use the internet? I have Vistumbler and Wireshark on my laptop could I use those programs to find it or do I need another one?

airmon will tell you the SSID if it has a client connected to it.

cain and abel will only work if you are using a wild packets driver as windows standard drivers do not support the monitor mode required.

you could use linux with aircrack-ng pack and capture with airodump till someone connects or re-auths. u might also want to try using aireplay (also part of aircrack pack) to deauth. if u get stuck remember use the --help switch to find the syntax and switches

Shouldn't we be saying to this person to ask the owner of that network if he can be put on it (as this is saying that its ok for a random person to join a network that he isnt allowed) i dont want to be the bad person (i connect to unlocked networks and maybe tell them). I do hate it when companies make rules to say buy something then your allowed i say buy one thing and then go in the next day saying i've brought "this item" yesterday so your rule is still vaild and so am i :D (nothing saying you have to buy a item a day :D )