Proxy websites for de-filtering content

buzzinh

Hey guys as you know there are thousands appon thousands of proxy sites on the internet for gaining access to banned websites.

i work in a school as an IT techi, where alot of people are bullied via things like bebo. we have blocked it because of this, but students are still managing toget acces to bebo etc.. with proxy sites. we can block them aswell but as soon as we do they find a new one!

is there any way inwitch we can stop all these de-filter proxy sites working / some common thing they all need to work that we can disable?

regards

buzzinh

Hey guys as you know there are thousands appon thousands of proxy sites on the internet for gaining access to banned websites.

i work in a school as an IT techi, where alot of people are bullied via things like bebo. we have blocked it because of this, but students are still managing toget acces to bebo etc.. with proxy sites. we can block them aswell but as soon as we do they find a new one!

is there any way inwitch we can stop all these de-filter proxy sites working / some common thing they all need to work that we can disable?

regards

buzzinh

I don't understand how you bully someone on sites like this? I suppose they can be used to spread rumours or make fun of people, but then there still needs to be some real life component. Unless the bullied person is actually actively going to these sites on purpose. And plus students can still access these sites from home so I don't know how you would stop this. Anyway, you can make a lots of the web proxies useless by filtering on actual content, e.g. look at the source code and if it says Bebo in the title element then block it. This won't stop proxies which use HTTPS though, unless you force use of your own SSL/TLS certificates on the browsers so you can do a MITM type thing and filter the secure traffic too.

cheers we will have a look at that.