Just the basics? HELP!!

mcwc

I am new to all this and trying to learn to do some light pentesting/raise awareness in my building. I am trying to use this "change wall paper" attack to notify people that leave their computer and am having trouble. https://github.com/hak5/bashbunny-payloads/pull/245/commits/29d750d2062eece73b971f622e75eac8bc3bb7d5

I have added the payload, s.ps1, and my w.png file i want to use to "switch1" folder. 

when i plug it in, it just goes to setup then fail LED colors. nothing else happens. 

I have tried modifying some of the lines to things that make sense to me (ie. changing "$SWITCH_POSITION" on line 24 and 39 to "switch1")

is there anything i need to modify in the payload or s.ps1 files? trying to figure out what i am doing wrong. I am just learning so dont have any experience any help would be greatly appreciated. just trying to get it to work and learn some maybe obvious things im missing.  

In what way is PowerShell execution policies set up on the target computer? Running ps1 scripts might be restricted on that machine. Plug in the Bunny in arming mode and try to run x:\payloads\switch1\s.ps1 "manually" from a PoSh window (where x is the drive letter of the Bunny). What errors are showing (if any)? Also check that there's actually a Desktop directory for the current user. It might be missing. Make sure that the Bunny actually holds the ps1 and the png in the correct directory. Those files missing is the only thing in the payload that should trigger LED FAIL.

thanks for the response @chrizree i am just wondering if you can clarify something that might sound ridiculous..... does anything in the s.ps1 file need to be edited/changed?

I havnt modified it at all. also with the payload file.... would i need to edit things like "PAYLOAD_DIR" or "$SWITCH_POSITION" or "Name+"