So how does that work?

Stevie

We have moved a piece of 3rd party software to a cloud based solution. The department that uses it was using it installed locally for awhile but it is really old software, still using FoxPro. Anyway, they said they now have a cloud solution (the same old software just run on a VM managed by an external host).

They use GraphOn's Go-Global and UKFast (I won't mention reviews :) or what their support is like :) )

Anyway. So we have an address for the package. When you visit it, if Go-Global isn't installed then it requests to. Once that's installed the remote application now loads.

We had one user where it refused to connect and would come back with "failed to connect to "THE ADDRESS" on port #443" from Go-Global.

They suggested this was a firewall issue but it can't have been because when I logged on it connected fine. "I'm an domain admin" I thought, but it can't be that as it was my normal account. "I have more rights through the proxy than the average user" I thought, so I got another user with the same rights as (lets call them "user 1") to logon to "user 1's" PC. User 2 logs on and it works fine for them so it proves it can't be the firewall or the proxy otherwise it shouldn't work for "user 2".

I then logon to another PC (remember, it worked for me on user 1's PC) but it refused to work on the other PC. I was getting the same "failed to connect to "THE ADDRESS" on port #443". Moved back to User 1's PC and it worked fine for me.

Now comes the weird bit, if I run Fiddler on User 1s PC while User 1 is logged in, it connects fine. Turn Fiddler off and we get the "failed to connect to "THE ADDRESS" on port #443" message again.

Any ideas what Fiddler would be doing to make the connection work? I thought Fiddler just just chained to a proxy and nothing else, so why would it make a connection just fine with Fiddler running but not when Fiddler isn't running?