need some help

thechosenone

i am a complete newbie when it comes to hacking/modding something( i modded a xbox and a 360 thats it) so if i could please get some help from you guys on getting started....such as like what linux bootable cds i should have or just general materials....i have ubuntu linux but thats it:(please help

Well, personally I like Suse because its pretty much open source windows and FreeBSD because its just so powerful & its just so easy to use.

However, there is a shit load more to hacking than just running Cool Program X. I wouldn't even say *nix (meaning linux, *bsd and unix like operating systems) is a hacker tool, its just a different platform to run your computer from.

http://hak5.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=913

Being a hacker takes lots of creativity, problem solving and reading, otherwise you won't know how to use the tools people are suggesting.

Now you seem fairly enthusiastic but I will say that you won't just 'become' a hacker over night (although from yourlast post you do appeciate that to some degree), you'll need to read your ass off, you learn everything you get the opportunity to even if you don't think you need to. Playing is generall learning for hackers so learning becomes fun. Everything you learn is something you can potentially use somewhere along the line.

Problem solving skills are a must and you must never be afraid to tamper with equipment *you own* but don't get in the law's way. If you do cross the law, know your way around it as best you can, know your rights, know what you did and why, know how you can wriggle out of it.

Don't take unnecessary risks but don't be afraid to try things, it's a fine balance but it very often pays off.