Half duplex Full duplex?

I see the upcoming Hackrf is half duplex, it can either send or receive, but not both at the same time.

I am completely new to this, so this could be considered a dumb question.

To get full duplex, can the $20 dongle take care of the receive part, with hackrf taking care of the send?

Or........would one need 2 Hackrf units?

Edited by xrad

Depends on the range. The dongle only does 24MHz to 1850Mhz whereas the HackRF I believe can tune to in excess of 4GHz.

So your idea would work as long as you restrict your HackRF to dongle frequencies and of course you transmit on a different frequency than what you receive on.

I see the upcoming Hackrf is half duplex, it can either send or receive, but not both at the same time.

I am completely new to this, so this could be considered a dumb question.

To get full duplex, can the $20 dongle take care of the receive part, with hackrf taking care of the send?

Or........would one need 2 Hackrf units?

Not a stupid question at all. This really all depends upon your needs. The main thing limiting you with the $20 dongle is the frequency range, and the bandwidth. I tested my dongle a few days ago and it got about 26MHz - 1.7GHz, with a bandwidth of about 250khz where as the HackRF goes from 10MHz - 6GHz and a bandwidth of 20MHz.

If you are only working within the frequency range and bandwidth range of your dongle then you can use just it and 1 HackRF, but I would personally use two HackRFs due to the larger bandwidth. Once I get my hackrf in I plan on using it to receive signals from geostationary satellites though (GOES) in the same manner I do with the NOAA satellites.

Once I get my hackrf in I plan on using it to receive signals from geostationary satellites though (GOES) in the same manner I do with the NOAA satellites.

Interesting. And this is because of the bandwidth?