Getting into the Security Field

Rocco

Hello.

I am very interested in getting into Computer Security. It is a very interesting field, but from what I have seen it isn't that easy to get into. Most jobs require 5+ years of work experience before hand. Also I have been told that I should get some sort of IT Security Certifications.

So, If I am just starting out, and have no job experience in the field. How would you recommend I get into Computer Security? What certifications would you suggest I should get? What courses should I take? How should I get involved, etc?

First be more specific since "computer security" is a very, VERY wide topic. Describe in your own words what you'd like to see yourself doing.

Think things like:

- hardening installations

- architecting a network that properly segregates the important machines from those exposed to the internet.

- set up a firewall

- securing database installations

- auditing widely used and/or externally visible software

Most people are adequate at most of these. Few are good at some of these. Very few are great at one or two of these.

Companies know this. They want you to have a fair knowledge of all of them (helps in communicating what others expect from you and what you expect from them) but to be at least good at one or two of them. That's where the 5 years experience comes in. You don't become great by reading a book once or attending a week-long seminar.

@digininja: Yesterday I watched the video of that talk you gave and one thing is puzzling me.

You recommend getting on Twitter.