Pineapple Questions, Help Please!

Rotunda

Hello all!

I've just got my hands on a mark II pineapple and a mark III pineapple off a very good buddy of mine...

Now I have a number of questions...

Can you run mark III firmware on the mark II?

Can someone link me to a USB to barrel power cable for them both? (unless they use the same one?)

Is the mark II still a good little worker for wifi manipulation? I've never used one before and I'm not sure what the differances are between it and the mark III are??

thanks in advance

You Cannot run the mk3 firmware on the mk2 hardware (fonera, openmesh etc) the mk3 firmware is designed for the alfa AP51/ imesh51 wireless routers.

The mk2 will require you to create a dhcp-server instance on your laptop, and set up iptable rules and ipv4_forwarding to give access to clients, this (in my opinion) give much greater control if you are trying to exploit a client via metasploit, SET etc. whereas if you were going to try purely just sslstrip and dnsspoof type attacks i would go with the mk3 - it runs its own dhcp-server instance and requires you to sit at 172.16.42.42 and have ipv4_forwarding enabled,the script to start it is wp3.sh from the hak5 site.

the DC connector for the mk3 is a 2.1/5.5 so a google or ebay search should turn you up some, not sure about the mk2!

I am pretty sure you can run the mark III on Fon, open-mesh etc. It may run a bit slow though.

Mark 1 was the Fon

Mark 2 was Open-Mesh/OM1P (Can't remember the first open-mesh model that was discontinued)

Mark 3 was developed on OM1P and for AP51

Mark 4 is Hornet-UB / AP121U

Basically from what I understand. You can run Mark III Firmware on anything Mark III and Below. Results may vary with reliability of the slower models.

Mark 4 is a new breed and will only work on Hornet-UB/AP121U

I am pretty sure you can run the mark III on Fon, open-mesh etc. It may run a bit slow though.

Mark 1 was the Fon