Alpha Backpack On Mk4 Pineapple - Need Help

Just received my Pineapple Mk4 yesterday. My first experiment was the "typical" setup where I had it hardwired to my laptop (well actually a VM) that was acting as a router. Other than having some problems with Ubuntu's network-manager insisting overwriting my default gateway with the ip of the pineapple every few minutes (I eventually removed network manager and set the networking up manually) everything worked well.

Still this all seems rather pointless if your using a laptop since you can almost just as easily do all this without any additional hardware that needs to be powered. I really want to make this stand alone with a spare ALFA USB WiFi AWUS036NHA I bought at the same time but am having problems.

I am a Linux admin and Linux is not a problem for me but I am completely new to OpenWRT and busybox. I can get the Alfa to connect briefly but it immediately disconnects. I believe the problem is with the network interface I am using. I think I need to define a new physical interface in /etc/config/network but I am not sure what that would be.

config wifi-device  radio0
	option type     mac80211
	option channel  11
	option macaddr	00:c0:ca:60:ef:62
	option hwmode	11ng
	option htmode	HT20
	list ht_capab	SHORT-GI-20
	list ht_capab	SHORT-GI-40
	list ht_capab	RX-STBC1
	list ht_capab	DSSS_CCK-40
	# REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
	# option disabled 1

config wifi-iface
	option device   radio0
	option network  lan
	option mode     ap
	option ssid     "pineapple"
	option encryption none

config wifi-device  radio1
	option type     mac80211
	option channel  1
	option macaddr	00:c0:ca:57:24:b5
	option hwmode	11ng
	option htmode	HT20
	list ht_capab	SHORT-GI-20
	list ht_capab	SHORT-GI-40
	list ht_capab	RX-STBC1
	list ht_capab	DSSS_CCK-40
	# REMOVE THIS LINE TO ENABLE WIFI:
	# option disabled 1

config wifi-iface
	option device   radio1
	option network	wan
	option mode	sta
	option ssid	MyNetwork