A Little Challenge In C

Hey guys, I'm working on a challenge that our professor gave us today, its not worth marks or anything but just something to do on our spare time.

We only know the very basics of "c" as its early in the term.

we know things like scanf, printf, if, char, int, etc...

Here's the challenge:

write a program which will ask the user to input three letters. Determine which letter comes first in the alphabet and display it on the screen. (hint: A equals 97 in the ASCII table).

I'm basically having trouble getting started.... here is the code i have:

/* Filename: atoz.c
   Written By: Silentknight329
   Date: Jan 18, 2012

*/

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
  char let1;
  char let2;
  char let3;

printf("Input three letters:");
  scanf("%c, %c, %c",&let1, &let2, &let3);

system("PAUSE");	
  return 0;
}

If you guys wouldnt mind giving me some pointers or even links to really good tutorials would be rad

Thanks

Silentknight329

I'm not a programmer, but I would create an index of the letters and assign a value. a=1, b=2, etc, maybe even use some sort of array to count them, then check the three letters, get their number assignments, if item 1 number is less then 2 and 3, it comes first, and so on, doing compares, finding the smallest number assigned to them, and then that letter would be the one to echo back as the answer if its number was the smallest or "less than" the other values.

As it is C then this works, just remember to input your letters in the format "b, a, c"

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
{
  char let1;
  char let2;
  char let3;

if(let1<=let2 && let1<=let3)
  {
    printf("%c is the lowest\n",let1);
  }
  else if(let2<=let3)
  {
    printf("%c is the lowest\n",let2);
  }
  else
  {
    printf("%c is the lowest\n",let3);
  }

return 0;
}

Now that we have done your homework tell us why it works and then write the code to allow you to compare as many characters as you like.