New Exchange Mailbox Using Powershell Via Copssh

devilish

Hello!

Maybe someone can help me on this topic.

I'm an absolute powershell noob but since we are getting MS Exchange it's time to learn.

All our unser management is based on linux. So I have to create ps scripts that one can start from linux using ssh. Scripts with new-aduser commands are running fine. Now I need to use "new-mailbox" so the script needs to load the Exchange PS Extensions and here is the problem.

Using

. RemoteExchange.ps1

Connect-ExchangeServer -auto

New-Mailbox -UserPrincipalName $PrincipalName -Alias $Alias -Database $Database -Name $User –OrganizationalUnit $OU -Password $secure -FirstName $First -LastName $Last -DisplayName $Name -ResetPasswordOnNextLogon $False -PrimarySmtpAddress $email -Force $true -EmailAddressPolicyEnabled $false

works fine localy. Via ssh

. RemoteExchange.ps1

Connect-ExchangeServer -auto

creates errors (missing registry keys etc). It looks like the RemoteExchange script trys to run using the copssh admin user and not the user connected by ssh.

So is there an other way to get the exchange cmdlets running in my script?

Any idears?

Hello!

Ok, here is the solution. And the next problem...

Solution:

A powershell via CopSSH is 32 bit. The exchange cmdlets on my server are 64 bit. So they won't run. I've found a nice software. "Powershell SSH Server 5" from n/ software. It runs as a service and supports 64 bit powershell.

Now I can

- create users

- create mailboxes

But I need to create home-directories too:

Our home-directories are stored on DFS. Only administrator can create new directories unter \\domain\home .

First try: Do it direct on the domain controller.

Open a powershell as user "Administrator".

PS> whoami

PS> domain\Administrator

Run Script containing the new-item command for \\domain\home\username.

=> Directory created

Second try: Do it over SSH

Other system: Putty connection to domain controller as Administrator

PS> whoami