Virtualization Pc

niels

Hey everybody,

in the line of the episodes, I was already planning to build a "Virtualization server".

But I'm not that good with the hardware B).

So could you guys help me out making a great setup ?

I was considering one of the following motherboards :

• Asus P8P67
  • MSI P67A-GD65
  • Asrock P67 Extreme4
  • Biostar TP67XE

With this processor : Intel Core i7 2600K

Together with 8 - 16 gb of Ram, but I'm not sure what kind of brand to use, but which one do you guys have the most positive experience with ?

I was thinking to use a relative small Hard Drive like this one for example, low budget + SATA-600 interface : Western Digital Caviar Black WD6402AAEX, 640GB.

And setup a second server with a bigger hard drive (I already have a machine running), and install the Gluster Storage Platform on this one.

I founded this processor cooler Scythe Mugen 2 Rev. B and for the power supply I had this one in mind Antec TruePower TP-650 or something similar.

On top of that I'm going to install VMWare vSphere or better know as ESXi 4.1 Hypervisor.

Please let me know what you guys think, because I'm a noob if it comes to hardware.

Thanks a lot,

Regards Niels

It just depends on how much you want to spend, let me know and I can give you some hardware ideas...

You may want to read about this http://www.neowin.net/news/intel-identifies-major-flaw-in-sandy-bridge-chipset-begins-recall before you pick a motherboard for that CPU you want.

Here is my next Esxi 4.1 machine that will be going in to a Datacenter.

1 x Intel SR1600URHSRNA 1U Barebone Server $899

1 x Intel ASR1500PASBP Passive Hot-Swap Backplane $79.99

2 x Intel Xeon E5620 Westmere 2.4GHz LGA 1366 80W Quad-Core Server Processor BX80614E5620 $389.99

4 x Kingston 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) ECC Unbuffered Server Memory Model KVR1333D3E9SK3/12G $199.99

1 x 1TB HD

2 x 500GB HD

Definitely go with the Asus P8P67, they make a very good and stable board.