My Biggest Issue/fear For My It Job Hunting Quest.. The Cover Letter

Ok, so I am a fresh college graduate being a dual major in computer programing and networking (more emphasized in networking). The job market is looking pretty interesting. Maybe not good, maybe not abundant, but I want to make a strong impact on every job I apply for.

First let me say that on the resume, I feel I am golden. I have honed my resume to the best of my ability for what I have to offer, yet of course I have remade it about 7 times.. but the cover letter..

My issue is I cannot fathom how to sell myself. I am an IT guy. I think like an IT guy, but I have NEVER been a sales person. Of course the cover letter is selling yourself, which of course is my weakest link. And all the good googles and bings in the world don't seem to help me. I guess the main issue I am having is I can't stand the idea of "copy, paste". So I want to come up with an original cover letter. I know if I were searching resumes and cover letters and happened to see a line that looked very nicely thought out, searched it and found it to be a blatant copy/paste job, I would think the person is a fake and trash it. That's just me though.

Maybe I am being too critical?

I know there are a lot of good IT people here. Heck, love me or hate me I have been on this forum for two years now, so I know there are some great minds here. The question of all this is what is acceptable? I know about the faux pas like really bad formatting, excessive colors, lying, and of course grammatical errors (no I don't really use good grammer here) but that's pretty easy to take care of.