HackRF One with drone

Hi

I'm a beginner in using HackRF One. I have a Mavic 2 drone and I was wondering if I can conduct any attacks using the HackRF One, whether replay or GPS jamming/spoofing or even taking control of it entirely.

I have GNU radio installed and if there is anyone who has had experience in dealing with drones and their radio frequencies, I really really appreciate if you could help me. 

It's for a project to detect vulnerabilities of the drone and there is no malicious intent.

Thank you.

• 2 weeks later...

First thing to do is some recon on what frequencies are used by the drone.  Then you can start to dissect the signals.

There is good information around the web on GPS spoofing but I don't think you would want to do this with your drone unless you aren't afraid to destroy it.  The way GPS failsafes work is to return the drone to a set GPS home location.  If the current location of the drone is spoofed this could trigger something like a geofence failsafe.  At that point multiple things could happen resulting in a very bad ending for the drone.  If you drone has good GPS failsafe it should attempt to land directly downward.  This will all depend on model, firmware, etc of the drone.

Also some drones use a form of signal hopping on control channels.  This helps prevent jamming/interference of channels by changing them at a fast rate.  This makes intended jamming more difficult but not impossible.