Issue with Kali

BethKali

Hi I'm new here but I promise to stay loyal.

I love trying new stuff and I admit I'm new to Kali's world

I have Kali 64bit installed in a VM

hooked up to Alfa USB antenna

I'm following this tutorial

Tutorial

And here's a screen shot of my setup.

YWcwNJ.png

then i start Kali and run iwconfig

Klf0Zf.png

and then when I try to Airmon-ng start wlan0

this is what happends.. I tried wlan1 aswell

2F4EkM.png

I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.. my results is nothing like any tutorial
I found online even when I tried the "easy" Wifite it failed to crack any of the wifi routers it found..

could any of you help? I'll be more than thankful

When it tells you you might want to kill a few processes in case things don't work, and they don't work, you might want to kill a few processes. Just a thought.

Another thing is that it literally says "monitor mode vif enabled for [phy0]wlan0 on [phy0]wlan0mon". Given that, why are you invoking airodump-ng on "mon0"?

What it sounds like is not so much that you're a noob to Kali, but a noob to Linux, which would be bad because if so what you're doing is the equivalent of trying to fly an airplane before learning to walk.

The goal of running airmon-ng on your wireless interface is to replace it with a new interface specifically for the purpose of monitoring. This monitoring interface, just like your wireless interface, is a thing with a name, which gets reported by ifconfig. So what you should be doing is you start airmon-ng on your wireless interface, check with either ifconfig or iwconfig what name was assigned to the monitoring interface (or, you know, read the output of the airmon-ng start command because it says right there what the name it made for this has become) and take it from there.