Help using Hydra on web form

Rombro

Hi I am very new to all this. I am trying to learn how to use Hydra. I've done some reading online and had a go at using it against my own router. I am using Burpsuite to get the POST and response info.

My router login page does not have a field for a login only for a password. The default password being "admin".

On trying to login to the router using an incorrect password I get the following output:

POST /login.cgi HTTP/1.1
Host: 10.1.1.1
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:31.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/31.0 Iceweasel/31.8.0
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-US,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
Referer: http://10.1.1.1/login_main.html
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 28

login_option=0&password=asdf

and the response I get back is:

HTTP/1.1 200 Ok
Server: micro_httpd
Cache-Control: no-cache
Date: Sat, 19 Sep 2015 16:27:20 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Connection: close

<html>
<head>
<meta HTTP-EQUIV='Pragma' CONTENT='no-cache'>
<script language="JavaScript">
function back_page()
{
   var loc = 'login.html';
   var code = 'location="' + loc + '"';
   eval(code);
}
</script>
</head>
<body>
<script language="JavaScript">
     alert("Invalid password");
     back_page();
</script>               
</body>
</html>

Given I am just tryint to test out Hydra at the moment and learn it I figured I'd give it the correct login credentials so it only has to make one attempt. My hydra command is as follows:

hydra -l 0 -p admin 10.1.1.1 http-post-form "/login_main.html:login_option=^USER^&password=^PASS^:Invalid password" -V

However I am getting no joy. It is not able to identify "admin" as the correct password.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

you will have more success scripting your own tool rather then depending on some one else's tools...