Would like some assistance understanding some .c is possible.

NoobTester

Hello,

I am new to the scripting world and am by no way a coder just yet. I've been reading up on it but I am still very new.

My brother gave me his old Practical exam to learn from and its been fun. I've performed a successful MITM Attack and learned how to extract a shadow file and crack them using john.

I'm currently learning how to try to gain privilege escalation and i've been researching CVE-2004-0077 and per Bugtraq I've found mrep_poc_2.c

I've tried reading the code but its beyond my understanding.

When trying to compile I get the following:

./remap_poc_2.c: line 1: /bin: is a directory

./remap_poc_2.c: line 2: syntax error near unexpeected toekn '('

./remap_poc_2.c: line 3: '*Proof-of-concept code for do_remap() #2'

I'm not asking for someone to give me an answer or anything but just an understanding of what type of error this is throwing out at me so I can get good at this. One day I'd like to be like you guys after a few books and classes but one step at a time.

My brother said this was a great start and I could use it to get a CPT Certification one day.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

-Len

ok so I ran gcc296 -W -Wall mremap_poc_.c && ./a.out

Returned with:

nmap: Cannot allocate memory

created ~65530 VMAs

now remapping 0X3FFE5000 at 0x3FFE1000

Segmentation fault

My brother says the answer is: #65525 0x50bf5000 -0x50bf6000 but he wont show me how.

Why would I get different flags?

I'm trying everything I can to understand this. Any push in the right direction would be great. Thanks

Jesus, that's some old shit right there. But still great to play around with.

Problem is, I have no idea where your code file came from so whatever it may do is, at least to me, a complete mystery.