how to use expect in c++ #!/usr/bin/expect -f to c++ ?

datajumper

hello im kinda new to c++ i probabaly dont even have a good reason on why im wanting to do this

but here goes im trying to learn c++ and the only way i can learn is to build something im interested in

a while back i made this wonderful bash script that installs everything i need on a fresh install of ubuntu

(example #!/usr/bin/expect -f spawn sudo -s expect "password" send "pswd" expect "s" send "apt-get install "whatever ")

get the concept ? ok now i want to do the same thing "kinda" but in c or c++ i

i know a little about the system command which i have confirmed it works and works well

but i dont know how to send multiple commands to the terminal like using send totype commands and passwords like in expect

so i would appriciate any criticism and if you have any knowledge about this or simular i would be very greatful if you could shed

some light on the subject thanx

The system() function starts a process that you won't have anything to do with at all ever again. All it returns to you is the PID of the newly created program, which means the only thing you can do at this point is send it a signal. You have *ZERO* control.

Since you want to capture the process' output and provide it with input, you need to communicate with this process you're going to start. To do this you first create 2 or 3 pipes (using the pipe() function) - one will be STDIN for the command to be invoked and the other STDOUT (the optional 3rd one for STDERR). Next, using the fork() function, you create a new process for your program. The main process will get the new process' PID as return value for fork(), the newly created process will get 0 which is how you can tell them apart within the code of your program.