Newbie lessons learned after 3 days of playing

mpd352

I'm new to the Pineapple and not a strong Linux user. I've been playing with the gadget for a couple od days, and have been having a ball. I did run into a few issues that I've resolved, and though I'd share them here for other newbies.

1. I downloaded and installed Ubuntu on my laptop to run beside Windows 7 - all in all this was better than trying to manage a Linux machine through Windows machine.

2. My Mark V was bricked out of the box, but the unbricking instructions worked like a charm.

3. After two days of playing it became clear that I needed a larger and faster Micro SD card. Putting in a fast 16GB card was well worth the cost. I now install all my infusions to the card.

4. I set my V to have the second radio attach to my home wireless or my Verizon MiFi to get an internet connection. Pretty much all day yesterday I actually connected to and managed the V via my iPad via the web interface and an SSH terminal program on the iPad. The issue I had is after a reboot it would take a lot of trying and retrying to get Wlan1 to connect to the internet AP while keep Wlan0 running as my test AP. Downloading and installing WiFi Manager solved this problem - this infusion is highly recommended if you are going to use the second radio as your internet connection.

5. Karm, SSLStirp and tcpdump all installed with no drama.

6. I watched Chris Haralson's video at http://youtube.com/watch?v=nw4bo4rXGgQ and was able to get evilportal and nodogsplash running fine. I even followed his suggestion and modified the splash pages in photoshop for my purposes. One use I plan for this gadget is to provide concrete proof to certain skeptics about how easy it is to hijack folks with so called "free internet" hotspots.