Watching Planes on Windows

no42

This software RTL1090 (my favourite, but there is also ADSB#) will enable you to translate the ADS-B messages from planes on the Windows OS. Watch the planes transponder codes that fly overhead.

Combined with PlanePlotter you can then see where the planes are on a map! PlanePlotter has to eventually be licensed - but you get a nice 30-day trial.

Other open source alternatives are Virtual Radar Software and ADSBscope.

Enjoy.

• 3 weeks later...

I'm a newbie to SDR as well - using ADSB# and adsb-Scope in Windows 7 - 64bit - I've managed to get it functioning .. but when comparing flightradar24.com I certainly don't get the planes on my screen that are in my area. I AM getting a nice list of info in the right had logging area (some of it seems bogus - however.) Any thoughts as to why I'm only getting limited aircraft icons on the map section - as right now - I have 4 planes in my log list and only 1 displaying.

I think I can answer my own question - I get a bunch of planes with NO Lat/Long data ... only planes with Lat/Long data actually display. So my question is - why wouldn't these other planes be broadcasting Lat/Long ?

I noticed this as well. I'm thinking that perhaps the planes are sitting on the edge of the range for the stock antenna. If this were the case, then adsb# may only be decoding what it can, which is why you get some planes with no data beyond the ICA024 and Registration, while others you might get the altitude or heading, etc. The signal may be too weak, or there may be too much interference for the receiver to pick up the full packet of information.