Data Mining Tools

Random_N00b

Got a question for you all. I'm wondering if you know of any good datamining tools that I can use on a web page. Namely, yes, facebook. A good buddy of mine is getting in a lot of trouble because someone made a fake account with his name, and is basically ruining his good name with it. I'm just trying to find out where they're logging in from to get a better idea of who it could be. Any other info I can find with this account is a bonus. I'm not trying to "hack their fb" or anything like that, I'm just curious as to what info I can find so I can help my buddy out. Thank you in advance, and sorry for being a complete noob.

If the account is fake, and purposely meant to defame someone, contact facebook abuse department with proof, or have a lawyer contact facebook for the info. Thats the best course of action and probably the only chance of getting the page shut down. Most likely, facebook won't do anything without proof or court order to investigate. As for datamining, there are plenty of tools, but if you can login to another facebook account and befriend the fake account, that would be much easier than trying to work around private profiles or such. Look into OSINT tools like Maltego and just google osint in general for other tools.

As much as I would like to tell you "do this and this"... I am kind of weary on the circumstances. I am pissed at my landlord right now. I think you may just want to have your buddy go ahead and create a new account or just have him tell all of his friends that someone is forging a second "troll" account under his name.

Sorry for not really helping ya out, but you have an ethical conundrum; help your friend on FB and face federal time in prison; or follow my advice and have em create a second account... make it his gamertag or something if he has one. Then, no drama, no issues, and the troll will get bored or forge a second account. That would show that it is someone you know.