Tormanager

Challenger

Tor Manager - V1.0

As I mentioned before this is my first attempt at a module and it's not been an easy ride. The code aspect was a piece of cake - what was not was getting Tor to actually work well on the Pineapple. It turns out that relatively speaking to the Pineapple's resources the Tor client requires huge amounts of memory and storage! This module is USB install only as although the Bar will say it's size is probably under 2MB once Tor caches it's descriptors the final size is around 6MB which is of course too much for the internal flash. When running it also uses lots of RAM so don't expect to run much else at the same time.

Originally I was playing around with getting the module to install tor and it's dependencies with opkg but after extensive testing I thought that it would be better to just include a copy of tor so that there would be an indication as to why it needs to be installed on USB storage. The other thinking behind this is it makes the module cleaner to uninstall without leaving anything behind on the system.

Features:

- Tor Socks Proxy support

- Easy editing of SocksPort and SocksListenAddress

- "Run on Boot" mode for automatically starting Tor

- Bootstrapping progress indicator

Questions I know will come up:

Why is my socks connection is not loading anything? / Why does Tor take so long to start?