Firefox And Chrome. What Am I Missing?

alocke79

I have been working as a systems/network administrator since 2003. I have always been a fan of the Mozilla family of products and it's Netscape predecessors. Currently my goto browser is Firefox and I use Chrome as my secondary. I typically have Firefox on my main screen and Chrome open on my second screen for a few sites I have always open; GMail, Facebook, Guild Forums, etc. Those pages just feel faster and more responsive on chrome and tend to crash or temporarily freeze less. I tend to like the flexibility of Firefox with its huge plugin library and the ability of open a permanent bookmarks tab in the browser window. Chrome's lack of that particular feature is one of the main reasons I have never fully switched. Even on hak5 it always seems to be a Chrome window now.

However, at least in the geek community I follow I seem to a a holdout among IT professionals and geeks alike. I would say well over 90% of my co workers, friends, online contacts, and bloggers I follow have gone exclusively to Chrome. This seems to be closer to 100% when it comes to contacts in the information security field. While some of them have some specific reasons, such as the ability to view and manipulate page source better as one infosec friend commented; most people have just expressed more generic likes such as speed, simplicity, clean layout. Except for a bit of speed, I don't tend to agree with those because you can make Firefox look and feel like Chrome fairly easily using plugins and themes. I have yet to find true replacements in Chrome for several features I enjoy in Firefox. Automatically removing torrent files after completion as opposed to just relocating them, ability to download photo archive pages whether the graphics are images, hyperlinks, or some odd embedded mix of both. As I've already beaten to death, bookmarks management.