Help! Windows 7 Restore?

theyettihunta

I need help restoring my pc to factory settings.

I have an eMachines desktop EL1352.

It came with recovery discs labeled 1-3.

I run the recovery, choosing to restore it to the factory install. Then, it wipes my hard drive and installs windows throughout the three discs.

When the third disc is completed a notification pops up saying the restore to factory install is complete and to restart the computer..

It didn't work, I've tried to but with an without the disc still in the drive.

The bios is set to boot from the hardisk, which I believe is correct.

When it tries i just get:

"error: no such partition.

Grub rescue>"

Can someone please explain to me what I am doin wrong, this is my first time installing windows.

1) Did you have a Dual boot setup in your computer, before you restored your OS back to default?

2) Is your hard drive recognized/detected in the BIOS?

Edited by Infiltrator

Yes I had a backtrack + a bt recovery partition I believe alongside windows 7.

The recovery tool only lists about 322 gb to be formatted, and it's a 500 gb hd. However, when I boot the hardisk there is no option to boot any partitions... No Windows, no backtrack, just the error message I put in the original post.

It seems like you know what the problem is.

Looking forward to a response, thanks infiltrator.

I called geek squad hoping that they could tell me te solution, as I did purchase the pc from bestbuy with a year of subscription to geek squad services. The year was up and they couldn't help, despite me never using them once before. Or , I could pay them $50 dollars to come solve this issue. Screw that...

I'm trusting my Technolust.

Your boot.ini file has been rewritten as result of the Windows recovery process. You will need a Windows 7 Installation CD to fix the issue. Once your computer has booted off the CD, follow this instruction on how to recover your boot.ini file.

http://www.pagestart.com/repairwin7dualboot02.html